

2013 Regional Fishery Council Appointments

The Commerce Department today announced the appointment of 20 new and returning members to the eight regional fishery management councils that partner with NOAA's Fisheries Service to manage ocean fish stocks. The new and reappointed council members begin their three-year terms on August 11. Listed below are the new and reappointed members.

New England Council

The New England Council includes members from Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, and Rhode Island. The appointees for 2013 fill an obligatory seat for New Hampshire and two at-large seats.

Obligatory seat: Ellen D. Goethel (New Hampshire)

At-large seats:

Michael P. Sissenwine (Massachusetts) *Francis "Frank" W. Blount, Jr. (Rhode Island)

Mid-Atlantic Council

The Mid-Atlantic Council includes members from the states of Delaware, Maryland, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, and Virginia. The appointees for 2013 fill an obligatory seat for Delaware and three at-large seats.

Obligatory seat: *Lee G. Anderson (Delaware)

At-large seats:

*Richard "Rick" B. Robins, Jr. (Virginia) *Stephen E. Linhard (Maryland) Jeffery "Jeff" H. Kaelin (New Jersey)

South Atlantic Council

The South Atlantic Council includes members from Florida, Georgia, North Carolina, and South Carolina. The appointees for 2013 fill obligatory seats for North Carolina and South Carolina.

Obligatory seats:

Jack H. Cox, Jr. (North Carolina) Christopher "Chris" C. Conklin (South Carolina)

Caribbean Council

The Caribbean Council includes members from Puerto Rico and the U.S. Virgin Islands. The appointee for 2013 fills an at large seat.

At-large seat:

Louis A. "Tony" Blanchard (U.S. Virgin Islands)

Gulf Council

The Gulf Council includes members from Alabama, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi, and Texas. The appointees for 2013 fill obligatory seats for Texas and Mississippi and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seats:

*Douglass "Doug" W. Boyd (Texas) Leann N. Bosarge (Mississippi)

At-large seat:

Roy O. Williams (Florida)

Pacific Council

The Pacific Council includes members from California, Idaho, Oregon, and Washington. The appointees for 2013 fill an obligatory seat for Idaho and one at-large seat.

Obligatory seat:

*Herbert "Herb" A. Pollard, II (Idaho)

At-large seat: *Danny "Dan" L. Wolford (California)

North Pacific Council

The North Pacific Council includes members from Alaska and Washington. The appointees for 2013 fill obligatory seats for Alaska.

Obligatory seats:

*Duncan S. Fields (Alaska) David B. Long (Alaska)

Western Pacific Council

The Western Pacific Council includes members from American Samoa, Guam, Hawaii, and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands. There is one appointee filling an obligatory seat for American Samoa that has been vacant since 2012 and two appointees for 2013 filling two at-large seats.

Obligatory seat:

**Claire T. Poumele (American Samoa)

At-large seats:

*William A. Sword (American Samoa) *Julie A. K. Leialoha (Hawaii)

*Reappointment **This appointment fills the 2012 vacant seat and expires in 2015